top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSherry Barnum

Savor time this season

I came across a quote recently that read, “love is willing to waste time,” and couldn’t think of any truer saying.

When we truly love something or someone, we try to make time for it or them, because it is, or they are important to us.

Growing up, I would love taking drives with my dad. We didn’t always have a destination in mind, (OK, yes we did – it was usually to get ice cream, look at cars, pick up parts, or go to a flea market) but we would get in the car and go, sitting in silence being together or talking about the cars for sale along the side of the road or in the latest auto swapper – it didn’t matter what the topic of discussion was or where we were going – it was special because of the time we had together.

Time has always been something that seems to be in short supply, especially in the busy world we live in today.

We rush from one thing to another and never really slow down, leaving us empty and exhausted.

But what if we were to slow down this season and truly savor the time we had with people, making them feel loved, valued and seen?

At the beginning of the year, I wrote about five things 2020 taught me, one of them being savoring every minute. As this year comes to a close, I can’t help but look back and think, “did I do that? Did I truly savor every minute I had with people? Was I present? Did I ask the right questions? Did I look them in the eyes, smile, hug them tight, and let them know how much I truly love them?”

Time does that to us. It makes us think that we have endless amounts to give away, while in reality we never know how much we truly have.

So, take advantage of the time you have, right here right now. Stop the hustling and be present with the people in your life – be encouraging and love them with all you have.

And what better time to start than right now as we gather with loved ones near and far?

Take a drive, go get ice cream, go to a flea market, or just sit in the silence and enjoy the time you have together. Savor the moments.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page