top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSherry Barnum

An open letter to my nephew on his birthday

Dear Jared,

I can’t believe you turn four today!

Where has the time gone?

It seems like just yesterday we were waiting at the house with Brynna anxiously awaiting the call from your dad saying you’ve arrived.

And when we finally got the call, we couldn’t get to the hospital fast enough.

We were all so excited to meet you!

But I have to tell you something, buddy.

I was scared. I was scared to come into the room and meet you because I knew the minute I laid eyes on you, my heart would burst with so much love.

And that’s what it did. As soon as I walked through the door and saw your little face, my heart had been captured. I never thought something so little could take up so much room. But you, you did and still do.

The minute you were born, you brought so much joy into the world.

It was evident we needed a little man like you in our lives and in the short amount of time you’ve been here, you have taught me so much.

If there is one thing you’ve taught me, it’s to let go of fear.

You are the most fearless boy I know. The risks you take are ones that I would shy away from. But you, you aren’t scared. Don’t ever lose that.

Trust me, there will be times in life where you might be too afraid to try something. But promise me one thing, OK, buddy? If you are scared, do it anyway.

It could turn out to be the best thing that ever happened to you and if not, then learn from it. But don’t ever let fear hold you back.

Trust me, you give us scares every day, whether it’s with surprise tackles, to climbing up on top of counters, getting stuck in sinks or racing down the stairs.

You aren’t afraid to try anything.

Your fearlessness is your biggest strength.

It allows you to be yourself, laugh in the face of danger, love without holding back and dance like your daddy.

Just know that no matter what happens, someone will always be there to catch you.

And although I live so far away, I promise I will always be there to catch you.

Jared, as your auntie I promise to always be there for you, to lift you up and cheer you on. I promise to come home as often as I can for your big moments and that I will always be the embarrassing auntie giving you big hugs and kisses forever – you can count on that.

The world needs more little mans like you, but I am so thankful that there is only one you because you are so special!

Jared you have so much love in your heart to give and the world needs that. You light up the room every time you walk in. You are kind and silly and bring joy to everyone you meet. Don’t ever stop hiding cookies in your hats or sneaking pringles for breakfast.

Jared John, God is going to do so many great things with you and I can’t wait to see what He has in store for you.


I am so thankful to be your auntie and I love you more than you will ever know.


Love, Auntie Sher <3






4,829 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page