top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSherry Barnum

Hey, January…. Where’d you go?

Here we are in the last little bit of January. How did this happen? Where did the month go? It’s like I blinked and POOF! Welcome to February!

Looking back, this month has been a month of a lot of beginning and endings.

I walked into a new place to workout, which is always scary, took on a new, bigger responsibility at work, and launched this blog.

You may be asking yourself the same question I did as soon as I wrote those words, “Why does all this matter to me.”

Truthfully, it doesn’t. But it is my hope and prayer that maybe just one person will read my words and be encouraged.

So what better place to start than at the beginning.

2018 left me exhausted and worn out – physically, emotionally and mentally.

There was a lot of change on the horizon, and I was not looking forward to it, no, I was terrified of it.

You see ever since I moved to Texas in 2015, I feel like change has been a revolving door – something I have had to walk through every year I have been here.

A change of scenery, Texas is much different than Michigan (especially in the winter), a change of community and the biggest change…life.

I struggled a lot through the first year and when it seemed like I was just finding my rhythm – my world was shook again.

Uprooted from familiar again.

The struggle cycle took place year after year and once I found my rhythm… you guessed it – change.

It seemed like I was on a hamster wheel and every time I would get comfortable something would change again.

Work, co-workers, friends, family, life.

I was tired of it.

Everything seemed to be changing around me, and I couldn’t do anything but run the wheel.

So there I was at the end of 2018, tired and worn out.

Stretched thin, I was ready for something new.

New friends, new work, a new life.

As I sat cross-legged in my room, I prayed the Lord would use me in 2019 because if everything was going to change then I needed to change too.

Sitting there, I heard the Holy Spirit whisper, “I’ve got you, it will all be OK Keep looking to me and I will provide.”

He would provide an opportunity for me.

He would provide a chance for me to make an impact.

And He would provide a chance for change in my life and relationships.

Everything changed for Esther when she was made queen.

She didn’t sit on the sidelines, while Haman went on with his plan to destroy the Jewish people. She stood with courage, after her cousin Mordecai reassured her that maybe she was born for such a time as this (Esther 4:14). A time for her to take control and make an impact that would save an entire nation of people.

Though I am not saving an entire nation of people – maybe, just maybe, I was born for such a time as this.

A time to step up and out in my faith and into a new season of dancing through whatever change the Lord takes me through.

Whether it’s taking on more responsibility, making an impact or loving people courageously – as long as I abide in Him, I will able to gracefully handle whatever change comes my way.

And the exciting part? All the things that are being born from all the changes.







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page