top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSherry Barnum

Isn’t it so… cliché?

Updated: Mar 1, 2019

I’m going to fill you in on a little secret… I’m a hopeless romantic and I love romantic comedies.

Always have, always will.

Of course, I will deny my love of Hallmark movies forever when in reality I am watching them and usually crying by the end.

I can’t help it. I’m a sucker for them.

So when the movie “Isn’t it Romantic” came out a few weeks ago I knew I had to go see it. Of course, I figured it would be the normal romantic comedy about girl meeting boy, falling in love with boy and getting married. You know the routine.

And I wasn’t wrong. It was, but there was a much better message hidden inside than I expected.

I went in a little skeptical because I had heard bad reviews of it from my cousin, but went to watch it anyways.

And let me tell you as the movie ended I was sitting in my seat wiping tears away from my eyes.

I’m glad the theater was dark enough so no one could tell because I’m pretty sure I would be getting made fun of for it for the rest of my life (and probably still will since I’m telling you all this).

But back to the movie.

**SPOILER’S AHEAD***

Rebel Wilson’s character is an insecure woman who feels like she needs to remain in the background; and is never seen, although awesome, she is scared to let anyone see her awesomeness.

Hello? Did you secretly film my life?

The one difference: she hates romantic comedies and tells her friends all about how much she hates them.

She gets mugged and hits her head hard on a beam in the subway, which knocks her unconscious and lands her in the hospital.

When she wakes she finds herself trapped in a romantic comedy.

She has it all. The job, the apartment, the boyfriend and everything she could ever want. Except, in my opinion, true happiness.

She doesn’t love herself in her normal daily life and is constantly questioning all of the things happening to her.

Although she appears to have it all she lacks confidence despite everyone telling her how amazing she truly is just being herself.

I couldn’t help putting myself in her shoes throughout the movie.

We girls always feel as if we don’t measure up. We are constantly comparing ourselves to someone else and wishing we had different lives.

Fast forward through the movie and we find she gets a happy ending.

As her best friend (who she is in love with) is getting married she realizes that true love is loving yourself and you can’t love others well if you don’t love yourself.

Then, BAM, she wakes up from her little romantic comedy life and goes back to real life, loving herself and discovering that she has what it takes to make it.

Secure in herself and who she is she stands up and risks it all. She takes a chance on love with her best friend, who was in love with her the entire time also, her job and in the rest of her life.

Which leads me to my next point.

Yes, although this movie is very cliché, it offers a hope-filled message.

Love isn’t about looks. It isn’t about what it can offer you. It is about appreciating yourself and others for who they are and where they are in life. Showing up on the bad days, as well as the good. Being real with one another and being present. Embracing their mess and all.

That’s what her best friend did in the movie. He never gave up on her. Yes, he had his little jaunt with another woman during the rom-com sequence, but even then you could tell there was something between them.

I loved the fact that this movie brought to light that we can’t truly love others well until we love ourselves.

So, where are all my insecure girls at? I feel you, with the whole, “I’m not loveable” thing. But you are. You are awesome and loveable. You are loved.

Stop hiding and step up. Take a chance and embrace your awesomeness, you never know who is falling in love with you. (now how’s that for cliché?)



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page