top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSherry Barnum

Letting go of fear

“What is one thing you would do if you knew you wouldn’t fail?” Have you ever stopped and asked yourself that question?

Deep, huh?

I have never really considered that question until I was faced with it the other morning during my quiet time. And honestly, I’m still wrestling with it because I have always been a dreamer; but when faced with that question I couldn’t come up with anything.

A couple weeks ago, I competed in Camp Gladiator games. I wasn’t trying to make it to finals – I was just trying to beat my time from 2019 – but for some reason I kept psyching myself out.

Fear took over. I didn’t want to compete anymore.

It’s not that I couldn’t do it – I had been training for weeks – it’s just something inside of me snapped and made me think I couldn’t do it anymore. So, when my friend asked me the week of the games if I was ready, I just looked at him and flatly said, “no.”

Shocked, he asked why, and I told him I just didn’t want to do it anymore.

The real reason was mostly, insecurity.

I was going to be competing alongside many elite athletes, but in reality, I was only competing against myself.

Like I said before, I only needed to beat my time from 2019, but I was afraid.

What if it took me longer this year? What if I pass out from the heat? What if I drop the weights? What if, what if, what if?!

It was finally the night before games, and I called my mom sobbing.

I really, really didn’t want to show up the next day.

But I signed up. I was going to do it.

So, I showed up the next morning and you know what – I did better than I expected…and after I celebrated with pancakes!

The moral of the story is you CAN do hard things!

You just have to put your fears and insecurities in the back seat and let courage take the driver’s seat.

So, what would you do if you knew you wouldn’t fail?

Take a minute and ponder that question because if you’re anything like me you’ll be wrestling with it for a while.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page