top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSherry Barnum

Putting down roots

How do you define home? Webster’s dictionary defines it as the place where one lives permanently, especially as a member of a family or household. I disagree, because you can have more than one home. For me, home is a feeling. It’s the feeling I get as soon as I step foot off the plane in Michigan; embracing a loved one, laughing with friends, or even sitting in silence with your best friends. That’s home for me. To be honest, I’ve struggled with the concept of ‘home’ for the past three years. I was NEVER going to call Texas home. It couldn’t be. How could something be home when I longed to be somewhere else (mostly Michigan). Then something in me switched. I took a trip to Michigan and started to see that although this is the place I grew up, skinned my knees falling off my bike, learned to drive and made so many memories it just didn’t feel like ‘home’ anymore. You see, it was time for me to surrender my idea of “home.” As much as it hurt and I didn’t want to, I gave it over to God – Michigan, the idea of moving back someday, friends, family – everything. It was time for me to let go. I was holding onto too much control and knew it. But part of me still wasn’t ready to give up my dream of “someday.” The funny thing is that the Lord, well, He already has everything covered, so we can make all the plans we want, but you better believe He’s going to come in and change them all. Proverbs 19:21 reads, “Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that will prevail.”  And let me tell you, I had many plans.  I was going to be a fourth grade teacher, married at 23, have kids, a house with a wrap-around porch where my husband and I would sit on the porch swing and watch our kids run around the front yard, and, oh yeah, have it all by the time I was 30. But as you can see that didn’t happen. So, instead of pouting about it, I surrendered it.  Instead, the Lord put a pull in my heart to move to Texas, where again, I was only going to stay for two years. I wasn’t meant for Texas, or so I thought. See, we can make all the plans we want, but the Lord has a purpose for each one of us. Me, He wants me here in Texas. I’m not sure for how long, but for now I need to stay obedient to the call. His plans for me will always prevail over my plans. Here I am again putting up my white flag – surrendering. But let me tell you, He is working. He is doing BIG things here, so much so that while I was in Michigan, the longing to move back was gone. I was longing to be in Texas. Yes, I said it. I longed for Texas. I longed for the place I never wanted to go and for the people He has strategically placed in my life. The homesickness for Michigan was gone. I was – I am ready to move forward in His plan and dream that He has put in my heart. I was ready for pruning, so new things could grow – and they have. I was ready to realign my feet to His will, surrender (again), and say, “Yes” to whatever He has planned. Surrender and wait, because it is in the waiting, we are refined. “Wait patiently for the Lord. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the Lord,” (Psalm 27:14, NLT). It is amazing to look back and see all the prayers answered, since taking the leap of faith to drop everything and follow His calling back in 2015. I no longer have an end date for Texas in mind – I’m here until God decides to move me. I’m ready to put down roots and let them grow strong and deep. I’m ready in His plan – whatever that looks like. Whether it’s saying ‘yes’ to a tug He’s placed in my heart, stepping out in faith to follow a new path, having the courage to lean in and be an invitation, or even by marrying a Texan and starting a family. Whatever it is I’m ready to move forward with my eyes on Him and not in the past. I’m ready to dig in and do the work He has purposed me for. However long that takes – I surrender it all to Him. 


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page